top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureALife with Leen

A call to share — Anisakan

Updated: May 8, 2021

“Listen, my dear brothers and sisters: has not God chosen those who are poor in the eyes of the world to be rich in faith and to inherit the kingdom he promised those who love him?” — James 2:5

The Calling...

I’ve always had the desire to serve the poor & to give back to the community by educating children who are less privileged. A mere thought now made real, I was fortunate enough to join my brothers & sisters in ACTS to Anisakan this year-end.

Weeks prior to the trip, I found out that my examinations were scheduled during the same week as the mission. I faced a moral dilemma, one which required me to discern and to pray really hard.


“Trust in the Lord with all your heart & lean not on your own understanding.” (Prov 3:5)


Since the preparation for the mission trip itself started in the midst of the year, I gave God my “yes” before enrolling into my first year at the university. I did not know where God was calling me to. If I was not granted leave for my examinations, I would have to miss the mission. With eyes and heart lifted up to the Lord, He granted me an accommodation I could never have imagined for this crisis.


He granted my leave & hereby allowed me to fully be present in the mission trip. Moreover, my exams were postponed to the next school term, without me having to sit for it during the Christmas holidays. Truly we have such a merciful & loving Heavenly Father. :”)

With this clearance, I was reassured that God had wanted me to be present in His mission trip to Anisakan.

 
The Journey...

“...Please send them on their way in a manner that honours God.” - 3 John 1:6

As we travelled from Mandalay International Airport, we were met with the Sisters from the Anisakan Centre. They took the hour and a half journey just to greet us & accompanied us back to where they were from. This was indeed true hospitality. I had never met any of them, but the way they greeted us with radiant joy was enough to make me feel like I was welcomed. As the sun sets, the roads became darker and steeper as we journeyed up the mountains.

As I looked out the window, I felt a little anxious at the steep & narrow roadside that the huge bus was going through. There were no roadside lamps, but somehow the bus could manoeuvre its way up safely. With that, I was reminded that we too are journeying in a narrow & dangerous path in our lives but as long as the driver (Christ in our hearts) is seated on its throne in the drivers’ seat & his hands on the steering wheel, we will eventually reach our destination safely.

I hope you are encouraged to let Jesus reign in your heart & to let Him take the wheel so that you may eventually reach your destination - your very sole purpose in life through your vocation.

 
The Mission...

Motivated with the fact that this mission was practically GIFTED to me by Jesus himself, I left all baggages & expectations behind. I went as I am — a beloved daughter, one of His Chosen people, to serve the poor.

My role in the mission was to be with the Grade 3s in the centre’s elementary school. I was also tasked to lead Catechism sessions with the older girls every morning and evening.

You see, God knew I loved children & so He allowed for me to be a teacher to His little babies throughout the whole of the mission trip. The children here are so so loving, always filled with joy & they never ever forget to smile. It was so easy to please them, with just a little smiley face at their completed work, they give the strongest hugs & the brightest of smiles.

My favourite part about having 80% of my mission time interacting with the kids was them knowing your name, or perhaps their nickname for me. Apparently, they were calling me “mama” throughout our lessons. I thought it was a term of endearment, I still think that way though, but it actually meant sister.

One day, I took a stroll around the centre after school time & saw children from afar. It took a minute for me to realize they were my children in class, for their figure got bigger & bigger. Little did I know, they were running towards me with open arms. As picturesque as it might seem, all 3-4 of them ran to me with a hug-attack that almost knocked me down, & I have never felt Love in such a tangible way before. Even the children I teach in Singapore don’t do that to me. 😟 As they clung on to me, they tried talking in Burmese - which I could not understand, but we spent a good half hour just enjoying each other’s presence with them clinging on to me as we strolled along the end of the centre.

I was reminded of the joy that children bring to the lives of many; that these innocent eyes & beautiful smiles can swoon adults into becoming responsible ones.


Fr. Charles’ Kids

These were the children from low-income families, who come for the activities planned out for them by the Sisters & Fathers from the Centres. We planned a sports day for them - simply a time of playing & having lotsa fun. Through our mini games and running, I was reminded of how much the children in Singapore are missing out on childhood fun. The kids in SG are always on their iPads & iPhones, I would not even be shocked if they can no longer recognise a playground. The children who visited us that day were all so full of joy, with so much zest for the games we had laid out.



If you could only see how sad they were to say good bye 🥺

The trucks were mostly the form of transport to & from the centres. They enjoyed the coziness that the trucks could offer. Even with so little, they were grateful for the things given unto them. These children can find joy even in the slightest bit of what may seem to us as inconvenient. As I watched them in awe, I was reminded to be grateful for all that I am & all that I have.

 
The Company...

The mission would not have been a great experience, if not for the core team who worked many months prior to the mission trip. Not forgetting my beloved brothers & sisters who were present with me as we offered our time & effort to the Lord by serving His people.

Truly, the people in this mission felt like a huge family. Everyone was looking out for one another. People falling sick one day after another, and doctors were checking in on us whenever they could. Honourifics were blurred out during the trip, there were no Dr., no Mr., no Sir., no Mrs., no Mdm, just really the friendly “Uncle & Auntie” we Singaporeans like to use.

I ended the mission trip with a heavy heart, but with new motivation to live my life for the greater glory of God. These people, both young and old alike, taught me how it was to live life for others. The adults were always looking out for the young ones, and everyone felt like family.

There were evenings when we would just sit in a long table at the resort's dining hall & talk till the night fell. The cold stroll back to our rooms will always have a special place in my heart, for those were the nights I remembered, I will not walk alone in this journey to Christ.


 

If you're interested to participate in a mission trip with us, or anywhere with an organisation, I suggest ACTS Singapore. Here's to experiencing a Christ-centred mission trip! God bless<3



24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page